C215

portrait C215

Biography

C215, Christian Guémy's pseudonym, is a French urban and stencil artist, born in October 1973 in Bondy. Raised by his grandparents following the death of his mother, he obtained several degrees at university: a master's degree in History, a master's degree in the History of Architecture, and another in the History of Art at the Sorbonne. Christian Guémy created his first works in 2006. Although he is still drawing as a child, with his mother's old material. "As a teenager, I did a bit of tagging, but it was nothing serious," he says. Besides, he used to make comic strips for his school newspaper and cartoons of teachers and classmates.

C215 is an artist committed to causes such as Reporters Without Borders, he supports the association ATD Fourth World to make the fight against poverty a priority. Among other things...

Known internationally, Christian Guémy now presents works painted on recycled objects in many galleries in France and around the world.

Techniques used

At the age of 32, Christian Guémy is back with the brushes he had neglected since adolescence. Devastated by a sentimental break-up, he begins to paint portraits of his ex-wife and daughter on the walls of their neighbourhoods. Gradually, C215's work evolves, his colourful and singular stencils appear in the streets. The faces smile, the looks are brighter. The man rebuilds himself. In 2013, he also paints the portrait of the Minister of Justice, Christine Taubira, then the target of racist attacks.

His favorite subjects are childhood, the forgotten, the anonymous, the lovers, but also animals (dogs, cats and birds), particularly present in his urban paintings. His main model is his daughter Nina, born in 2003. Her style ranges from two-tone to the most colourful compositions. The dimensions of his works remain on a human scale, rarely realizing very large painted walls.

Medium used

"I try to interact with the context, so I place elements and characters that are mostly street elements and characters. I like to show things and people that society tries to keep hidden: the homeless, smokers, street children, bench lovers for example."

en_GBEN
fr_FRFR en_GBEN

C215

portrait C215

Biographie de l’artiste

C215, pseudonyme de Christian Guémy, est artiste urbain et pochoiriste  français, né en octobre 1973 à Bondy.  Élevé par ses grands-parents suite au décès de sa mère, il obtient plusieurs diplômes à l’université :  maîtrise d’histoire, master d’histoire de l’architecture, et un autre d’histoire de l’art à la Sorbonne. Christian Guémy réalise ses premières œuvres sur le tard, à partir de 2006. Bien qu’il est toujours dessiner, enfant, avec l’ancien matériel de sa mère. «Adolescent, j’avais un peu taggé, mais ça n’avait rien de sérieux», confie-t-il. D’ailleurs,  il réalisait des bande-dessinées pour le journal de son école et des caricatures des professeurs et camarades.

C215 est un artiste engagé auprès de causes tels que Reporters sans frontière, il soutient l’association ATD Quart Monde pour faire de la lutte contre la pauvreté une priorité. Entre autres…

Connu au niveau international, Christian Guémy présente aujourd’hui des œuvres peintes sur objets de recyclage dans de nombreuses galeries, en France et dans le monde.

Les techniques utilisées

A 32 ans, Christian Guémy renoue avec les pinceaux qu’il avait délaissés depuis l’adolescence. Anéanti par une rupture sentimentale, il commence à peindre des portraits de son ex-femme et de sa fille sur les murs de leurs quartiers. Petit à petit, le travail de C215 évolue, ses pochoirs colorés et singuliers apparaissent dans les rues. Les visages sourient, les regards sont plus lumineux.  L’homme se reconstruit. En 2013, il peint également le visage de la ministre de la Justice, Christine Taubira, alors cible d’attaques racistes.

Ses sujets de prédilection sont l’enfance, les laissés-pour-compte, les anonymes, les amoureux, mais aussi les animaux (chiens, chats et oiseaux), particulièrement présents dans ses tableaux urbains. Son modèle principal est sa fille Nina, née en 2003. Son style va de la bichromie aux compositions les plus colorées. Les dimensions de ses œuvres demeurent à l’échelle humaine, ne réalisant que rarement de murs peints de très grandes dimensions.

Les supports utilisés

« J’essaie d’interagir avec le contexte, donc je place dans la rue des éléments et des personnages qui appartiennent surtout à la rue. J’aime montrer des choses et des personnes que la société cherche à garder cachées : les sans-abri, les fumeurs, les enfants des rues, les amoureux des bancs par exemple ».

6 oeuvres

fr_FRFR
en_GBEN fr_FRFR