Antoine Josse

antoine josse

Biography

Born on 14 February 1970 in Boulogne Billancourt, Antoine Josse grew up in Vannes. According to him, art is an extension of life. Artists are witnesses of their time which they translate through their sensitivity and their practice.

"Antoine Josse's suitcases are full of images and noises, of desires to fly, to take down the moon, to be a trapeze artist, a human cannonball... In his sculptures, as in his paintings, everything seems aerial. The material is light, the poetry and the desire to fly are in every corner of the painting. For almost 20 years, Antoine Josse has been exhibiting all over the world, from his native Brittany to his adopted Normandy, passing through Paris, Switzerland, Chile, or even the USA...". – Annabelle Cavallin

Techniques used

Once the sketch is on paper, the painter takes time to study his sketch. He works with lead pencil, a few coloured pencils, inks, which he fixes with a thick varnish. His palette is very reduced, because, apart from grey, black, red, blue, green, the strokes are unique.

Medium used

Antoine Josse's paintings are known for their atmosphere, their evocative colour and their tumultuous sky. His work expresses an irrepressible desire for lightness, escape and the ability to dream the impossible. The presence of human beings immersed in these dreamlike landscapes transmits a unique charm to the artist's work.

His paintings are always done on coated wood. Antoine Josse has been making his first bronzes since this year. Works always tender and poetic, very close to his universe in painting.

14 oeuvres

en_GBEN
fr_FRFR en_GBEN

Antoine Josse

antoine josse

Biographie de l’artiste

Né le 14 février 1970 à Boulogne Billancourt, Antoine Josse a grandi à Vannes.  Selon lui, l’art est une prolongation de la vie. Les artistes sont des témoins de leur temps qu’ils traduisent par leur sensibilité et leur pratique.

« Les valises d’Antoine Josse sont pleines d’images et de bruits, d’envies de voler, de décrocher la lune, d’être trapéziste, homme canon …. Dans ses sculptures, comme dans ses peintures, tout semble aérien. Le matériau est léger, la poésie et l’envie d’envol sont à chaque coin de tableau. Depuis presque 20 ans, Antoine Josse expose aux quatre coins du monde, de sa Bretagne natale à sa Normandie d’adoption en passant par Paris, la Suisse, le Chili, ou encore les USA… » – Annabelle Cavallin

Les techniques utilisées

Une fois, le croquis sur papier, le peintre prend du temps pour étudier son croquis. Il travaille à la mine de plomb, quelques crayons de couleur, des encres, qu’il fixe avec un vernis épais. Sa palette est très réduite, car, hormis le gris, le noir, le rouge, le bleu, le vert, les touches sont uniques. 

Les supports utilisés

Les tableaux d’Antoine Josse sont connus pour leur atmosphère, leur couleur évocatrice et leur ciel tumultueux. Son œuvre exprime un désir irrépressible de légèreté, d’évasion et de capacité à rêver de l’impossible. La présence d’êtres humains plongés dans ces paysages oniriques transmet un charme unique au travail de l’artiste.

Ses peintures sont toujours réalisées sur bois enduit. Antoine Josse réalise depuis cette année ses premiers bronzes. Des œuvres toujours tendres et poétiques, très proche de son univers en peinture.

14 oeuvres

fr_FRFR
en_GBEN fr_FRFR